David Knights' Weblog

January 20, 2013

Magazine review: Scale Aircraft Modelling Vol.34 #4 (June 2012)

Filed under: Modeling — dknights @ 8:13 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Yes, I know this one is just a touch late.  I have a bunch of magazines that I’ve read but not reviewed.  I will try to get some of them posted.

If you’ve been reading my magazine reviews, you know that in general, I think Scale Aircraft Modelling is the best of the commercial aircraft modelling magazines.  It is far from perfect, and can be real hit and miss.  However, in general its competition is much worse or much more expensive.  The $12 price of each issue of SAM does hurt it in my opinion, especially compared to the $8 price of its 3 main competitors.

The main feature in this issue is on a 48th (boo!) Eduard 109.  However, the other main feature is a very nice build of the Fly Whitley.  Along with a nice, but underdeveloped build article, there is an article on the history of the Whitley and a number of color side-view profiles.

There is also a build of the Revell F-22 in Transformers paint scheme and a nice build/review of the Airfix Gnat.

It is a good, though not great issue.

Blog at WordPress.com.

