David Knights' Weblog

January 10, 2015

Magazine review: Scale Aircraft Modelling Vol. 36 #7 (Sept. 2014)

Filed under: Modeling — dknights @ 8:54 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yes, I am still catching up on doing reviews of previous SAM issues.  I know that I am critical of some issues of SAM, but I have to say this is a pretty good one.  Not great, but good.  As far as 72nd scale content goes, there are builds of a J-29, DB-8A and a B5N2.  The articles are, in general, a nice combination of text and photos.  I’d like a bit more text and a few more photos, but I understand the pressure editors are under.  The B5N2 article is a build just so the author can use a Vallejo chipping medium to try a chipped finish.  I’d like to see more of that where the articles feature a particular technique.  Otherwise, the articles are just simple builds, which can get boring pretty quickly.

The magazine still suffers from typos, etc.  It is annoying and shouldn’t be happening in a professional publication.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

