David Knights' Weblog

July 9, 2015

Beer review: The Pitchfork Pear Cider

Filed under: Beer — dknights @ 11:47 pm
Tags: , ,
The Pitchfork Pear Cider

The Pitchfork Pear Cider

The Pitchfork Pear Cider
Sonoma Beverage Co., Healdsburg, CA

I am a fan of ciders.  I particularly love pear ciders.  Ever since the 2003 IPMS Nationals in Oklahoma City where I tasted the most perfect of beverages, Ace Pear Cider, I’ve been a fan.  Unfortunately, Ace isn’t available in Kentucky, though it is available at Jungle Jim’s in Cincinnati OH.  (I stop by every time I pass thru.)

So, since I can’t get Ace Pear Cider, I am always on the lookout for something that comes close to that perfection.  Our latest entry comes close.  Out of California, it is 6% ABV.  It is slightly on the dry side.  It reminds you a bit of Strongbow or Smith & Forge.

Like most ciders it has little or no bite or aftertaste.  It is very smooth and enjoyable.  This firm also makes an Apple Cider and an Apple Cider blended with bourbon.  I will say based on this drink I will try the others if I get an opportunity.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

