David Knights' Weblog

August 27, 2015

Magazine review: RT Vol. 37 #1 (Spring 2015)

Filed under: IPMS,Modeling — dknights @ 9:51 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I skipped reviewing this issue when in arrived.  I read it right away, as I always do, but I simply failed to review it like I normally do.  That was a mistake on my part.  This is especially true since there is a lot of 72nd scale content in this issue.

There is a beautiful build of a 72nd scale F-86D make from the Special Hobby F-86L.  That article illustrates onne of the great things about RT.  The balance of text and photos is just perfect.  Also, the reference to the photos inn the text really helps the reader understand the build.

There is also a conversion of the Italeri DC-3 into the Basler BT-67 “turbo Dakota” conversion.  This was the best Canadian subject at the 2014 IPMS/USA National Convention.  I saw the model at Norfolk and it was very impressive.  I’ve always wanted to build a BT-67,

For the WWI modeler, there is a beautiful build of the Roden SE-5a.  This is not the easiest kit in the world and the builder does a great job.  (There is also a build of a 48th scale Fokker E.V, but we won’t talk about that.)

Future IPMS/USA President Ron Bell did a nice article converting a 76th scale (hey, its almost 72nd) Fujimi Cromwell into a Canadian Archer 17-pdr SPATG.

As always I recommend joining IPMS/Canada, if you aren’t already a member.

Blog at WordPress.com.

