David Knights' Weblog

June 19, 2016

My favorite modeling tools #7: Coffee cup warmer

Filed under: Modeling — dknights @ 11:36 pm
Tags: , , ,

I looked back and I haven’t done a favorite modeling tool entry since Nov. 2010, almost 6 years ago.  That is sad on so many levels.  Way back in the late 80s, early 90s, Verlinden broke on the modeling scene.  In reading one of several good modeling books he published, he  recommended warming paint before spraying it thru an airbrush.  It makes the paint flow much smoother.  I’ve tried it several times over the years, and it really does work.

Verlinden recommended using warm water to heat the bottle of paint. (I think this only works for enamels.) A few years ago, I picked up a coffee cup warmer.  While you can use it to keep your coffee warm, you can also use it to heat up your paint.  Just turn it on, put the jar of thinned paint on the warmer for a few minutes and you are good to go.  Just don’t leave it on there too long.  Try this, it sounds weird, but it works.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

