David Knights' Weblog

February 13, 2017

COPYCAT KITS: FACT OR FICTION?

Filed under: Modeling — dknights @ 9:35 am

Spencer hits another one out of the park.

THE KIT BOX

Did MENG really copy Tamiya’s large scale P-51 Mustang to create their smaller and simpler kit..?

“I agree that MENG may have been inspired by Tamiya, but to say it’s a copy is no more true in this case, than if I were to say that my local park team were a copy of FC Barcelona, simply because they both played football…”

16734898_1858742111067551_1064242651_o Brett Green’s stunning Tamiya 1:32 P-51D Mustang as featured in ADH Publishing’s book “How To Build… Tamiya’s P-51 Mustang”

Yesterday you may recall that I posted images of my MENG P-51 and this wrapped up a most enjoyable build with a model that I really like. It’s been a while since I’ve embraced a kit so wholeheartedly and then been so taken with the finished result, so my pleasure in revealing it to the world was something that I couldn’t wait to do.

View original post 1,103 more words

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

